When Two Become One

Seen as Valentine’s Day is fast approaching I decided to write my annual blog post about this vomit-inducing, sorry adorable* holiday. This time I won’t be entertaining you with my sad dating history or attempts at romance, but rather sharing my recent experience of true love.

On October 1st last year I was privileged enough to witness two of my favourite people tie the knot. After all the Pinterest boards and planning the day finally came and I was lucky enough to be given the role of maid of honour.

Weddings are pretty amazing – amidst the stress, the money woes and the dreaded guest list when you finally get to the big day all of that seems frivolous. It doesn’t matter that your great aunt can’t sit next to your cousin, or that your cake has three tiers instead of four – weddings are all encompassing and there is no way you can be unhappy at a wedding – I was a weepy wreck all day!

Maids of honour don’t traditionally make speeches but I thought I’d put one in writing anyway:

“I have been lucky enough to know both the bride and groom.

I cannot pin point the exact moment Jazz and I became friends.  I met her in the first year of university and I remember the first time we hung out, it involved listening to a cheesy 90s playlist and sipping warm white wine out of plastic cups, the rest is history.

I met James one rainy weekend – there was a knock on our front door and I opened it to find a soaking wet guy sporting a large puffy jacket and shorts, laden with shopping bags and a ruck sac. I thought the homeless men were getting rather ballsy, until I remembered Jazz saying her boyfriend was coming down for the weekend – sorry James.

First impressions tend to be right though, I joke. James you are one of the sweetest, kindest, thoughtful men I have ever had the pleasure of knowing – getting to hang out with you on the weekends was one of the highlights of my week. I feel like we bonded over a mutual love of movies and music, and you actually laugh at my jokes which is the sure-fire way to my heart. I couldn’t think of anyone more worthy of Jasmine. You’re kind of the perfect husband as you can cook and are clean and tidy. I miss those calves – it is super weird seeing you in trousers – and your sarcastic wit. You have to promise to always give as good as you get with Jazz, don’t let her win all the time.

What can I say about Jasmine Barton… well now Jasmine Cotton! Jazz hands, Jizzman, Jasmine you have been my roommate and more importantly my friend. I was completely shocked when you asked me to be your maid of honour, and although I haven’t been much help in the planning process, I can’t express how much fun it has been getting to fulfil my duties on your special day.  There is no-one I would rather hold a dress for or help go to the loo. Living with you was a pleasure and we have packed so many amazing memories into two years. I miss not waking up to the sound of the gossip girl intro music or your singing. I love your rants about how annoying something is and the obsessive way you talk about your dogs.  I may live far away and not be able to pick you up off the floor when you’re completed smashed, and tuck you into to bed (that’s what husbands are for), or laugh with you through a wall but just know that if you ever need me just ask. You make a beautiful bride and I want to thank you for giving me the honour of being your maid of honour.

It has been a really magical day and if I had to pick a particular moment it would be when both your mum’s reached out to one another and linked arms as they walked down to witness you signing the register. All attempts at holding back the tears were shot at this point. This moment really solidified what weddings and marriage is all about. In the immortal words of the Spice Girls ‘when two become one’ – it is the union of two people – two families becoming one.

Words cannot express how much I have enjoyed being part of your special day and getting to witness the love you have for one another. So I just want to say thank you.

To the bride and groom may this be where your epic journey begins.”

Love you guys – I hope married life is treating you well. xx

Leave a Reply

