She’s quite pretty for a big girl.

Tess Holliday is a size 22 model.

If I just said she was a size 22 and left it there most of you wouldn’t care two shakes about this woman, but make her a model and everyone is up in arms.

I get it models are figureheads, they are the face of the beauty industry and having someone who is even bigger than a plus-sized model is just shocking! (The term plus-sized always makes my skin crawl.)

I must admit when I first starting writing this I was a little against her.

I thought she too is promoting an unhealthy body image. Being overweight can be just as damaging as being too thin but then I actually considered her message.

Tess Holliday isn’t promoting obesity.

She is an advocate of having a positive body image. She is happy in her own skin, which is something not a lot of us can admit to. Body confidence, loving yourself, and not wanting to change for other people’s standards is what Tess is preaching.

Everyone has got stuck on the fact that she is by health standards overweight or even obese.

What does size matter? We are talking about attitude.

We are all so brainwashed into buying into society’s version of beauty that we have completely missed what she is saying. No one should be made to feel like they are ugly or unworthy, or don’t fit in because they don’t have the ‘typical body type’.

Then again it isn’t even the typical body type! Not many woman can preach being a 5’ 10”, size zero with curves, the world isn’t that kind, scratch that blame genetics.

I applaud her mission to get us talking about impossible beauty standards, because we’ve gone along feeling inadequate for too long. It’s comparing ourselves to others that is our downfall. I thought by now more people would realise no two bodies are the same.

We are all so caught up in this perception of what is beautiful, what is normal, and what is the right way to be. The truth is with all the facts and figures out there odds are none of us are perfectly healthy, beautiful, human beings. How can we be when fried foods taste so good, and exercise seems like a lot of hard work?

Everyone needs standards, labels, something to aspire to and identify with but not at the expense of happiness.

I feel like people forget beauty is subjective not objective.

Now I will admit I have an issue with food -in that I love it too much- and I’m not completely comfortable in my own skin so who am I to judge her? Who am I to prophesize what she meant?

Like I said it’s all subjective.

But personally I feel her size isn’t the problem, it is our attitude towards beauty.  Maybe stop at the “she’s pretty”.

There could be backlash, as with all figureheads. People may start to stay unhealthy because they are ‘comfortable just the way they are’.

Beauty isn’t an excuse for poor health.

People may use her message as an excuse to remain unhealthy because fat is easy. Sure be happy the way you are but not at the risk of your health.

Nothing is better that living a happy, healthy, long life.

Good on her for following her dreams.

Now enough with obsessing over size, it’s but a number.

Tess Holliday, model.

Leave a Reply

