Oh The Places You’ll Go!

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…” -Dr Seuss

Now as a writer I seek inspiration from everyday life. From quotes, books and even the people I see and meet everyday. To be a writer is to be observant and open to the world, to want to dive deeper and analyse. My inspiration for this blog came from the quote above, now Seuss a Doctor of sorts seems to have a point of view on every aspect of life and this quote seems to sum up my life right now.

University. Three years to learn new skills, find my passion, make new friends, drink till my liver screams and until my pockets are empty. It is all about that step into independence, about finding yourself alone but not lonely, just left on your own two feet.

After packing up the car till there is only enough room to sit and not move, unpacking, and then arranging your home for the next year, there’s the food shop and the heartfelt goodbye to your parents, it’s just you from there on.

No-one but you to look out for yourself, with food in the cupboard and books on the shelf. With a brain, two feet and common sense, you can survive for a couple of pence. (I couldn’t resist a little Seuss rhyme)

University for me is leading to where I want to go. As my first year draws to a close, I find myself inspired and more grown up. They say University is the best three years of your life so I aim to use the brain in my head and the feet in my shoes and go in any direction I choose.

Leave a Reply

